BIOE 128L - Large Marine Vertebrates

Instructor: Patrick Robinson (patrickwilliamrobinson@gmail.com)
Office hours: COH 148A, Tuesday 12-2pm and by appointment

TA: Chandra Goetsch (cgoetsch@ucsc.edu)
Office hours: COH 149, Monday 12-2pm and by appointment

Click HERE to meet your fellow students!

Click HERE for the class project guidelines

Example proposal (From Patrick's grad school project)

Northern elephant seal data (MatLab and google earth files)

California sea lion data (MatLab and google earth files)

MatLab Tutorial documentation

Course Syllabus - Note: Schedule will be modified throughout the quarter.

Date

TOPIC

READING

 

Mon. Jan. 7:

Intro/Background/expectations

NMFS permit, IACUC permit

 

Wed. Jan. 9:

Mini conference 8:30am, then Ethics + Field info

Ethics Chapter, Eseal Research Effects

 

Mon. Jan. 14:

Ano Nuevo Field Trip

Elephant Seal Paper, Eseal SOP

 

Wed. Jan. 16:

Class canceled

 

 

Wed. Jan. 23:

Scientific reading, writing, and reviewing

How to read a paper, NSF grant proposal

 

Mon. Jan. 28:

Kimberly Goetz: Aerial/ship surveys

Goetz Paper

 

Wed. Jan. 30:

Guest Lecture: working with animals in aquaria

Reichmuth Paper

 

Mon. Feb. 4:

Guest Lecture: Unique logistics of sea otters

Tinker Paper

 

Wed. Feb. 6:

Dr. Huckstadt: Stable isotopes

Isotope Paper

 

Mon. Feb. 11:

Goetsch/Conners: fatty acid analysis

Fatty-Acid Paper

 

Wed. Feb. 13:

Capture/restraint/sampling

 

 

Wed. Feb. 20:

Dr. Southall: Behavioral Response Study

BRS Paper

 

Mon. Feb. 25:

Dr. Costa: Tagging and Tracking

 

 

Wed. Feb 27:

Bill Henry: Seabirds

Henry Paper

 

Mon. March 4:

Dr. Costa: Energetics + funding

 

 

Wed. March 6:

Dr. Friedlander: Working with large whales

 

 

Mon. March 11:

How to give effective presentations

 

 

Wed. March 13:

Presentation work day

 

 

Mon. March 18:

Mini-Conference: formal presentation of projects

 

 

Wed. March 20:

Final exam

 

 

Field Calendar: