Schedule

Week Date Day Topic
1 7 Jan Tuesday Course Overview & Explanation of Pattern Journals
9 Jan Thursday Philosophy of Science
2 11 Jan Saturday Field Trip to Elkhorn Slough
14 Jan Tuesday Statistics Review
First Journal Patterns Due – 2 patterns (NO hypotheses)
16 Jan Thursday Population Ecology Review
 3 21 Jan Tuesday Community Ecology Review
First journal patterns returned
23 Jan Thursday Post-settlement Processes – Intertidal Zonation-1
4 28 Jan Tuesday Post-settlement Processes – Intertidal Zonation-2
30 Jan Thursday Maintenance of Diversity-1
Post-settlement Processes
Second Journal Patterns Due – 3 Patterns (NO hypotheses)
5 4 Feb Tuesday Stability and Life History Responses
6 Feb Thursday Exam 1
Second journal patterns returned
8 Feb Saturday Field Trip to Davenport Landing
6 11 Feb Tuesday Settlement and Pre-settlement Processes-1
13 Feb Thursday Settlement and Pre-settlement Processes-2
7 18 Feb Tuesday Settlement and Pre-settlement Processes-3
Third Journal Patterns Due – 2 patterns (With Hypotheses)
20 Feb Thursday Pre-settlement Processes – 4
8 25 Feb Tuesday Maintenance of Diversity – 2
Settlement and Pre-settlement Processes
Third Journal Patterns returned
27 Feb  Overview of marine ecosystems -1
9 3 Mar Overview of marine ecosystems – 2
5 Mar Thursday Biodiversity and ecosystem function
10 10 Mar Tuesday Global Change Ecology – 1
Fourth journal patterns due-2 MARINE patterns (with test of hypotheses)
12 Mar Thursday Global Change Ecology – 2
Finals Week Tentative
17 March
08:00-11:00
Tuesday Exam 2
Final journal patterns returned