Moorea 2008

Instructors:

Dr. Giacomo Bernardi: COH 248A, email: bernardi@biology.ucsc.edu

Dr. Pete Raimondi: COH 254B, email: raimondi@biology.ucsc.edu
Teaching Assistants:

Tish Conway-Cranos, Trailer 8 email: tish@biology.ucsc.edu

Melissa Foley: COH 255, email: foley@biology.ucsc.edu

Jimmy O’Donnell , email: jodonnell@biology.ucsc.edu

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

10/27: The recent Ichthylogy lectures are now posted. Also here is the marine ecology take-home final, due Friday 10/31

10/16: 3 more patterns (requirements identical to the first 2) are due on Thursday 10/30

10/13: Papers, data and presentations from all past projects are posted now on the linkspage

10/9: Updated VISA requirements for 2008 are now posted

10/2: Sale Readings for rest of the quarter are now posted on the class schedule

9/30: Thursday (10/2) Marine Ecology discussion will be in the afternoon along with the Sale Discussion. We will be doing the Icthyology Lab during lunch so those of you who are doing this, make sure to bring your lunch.

9/26: Go to the class schedule link to download the assigned readings. The class list link will tell you when you signed up to present and bring snacks.

– Class will be meeting Thursday 9/25 at 8:00 am in the Seymour Center Teaching Classroom at Long Marine Lab.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LABS

FIELD TRIPS

ELKHORN SLOUGH

HALFMOON BAY

FISH SKULL INFO

LAB 1

LAB 2

LAB 3

LAB 4

LAB 5

Pattern Journals: Instructions

First Patterns due in Lab 10/7: 2 patterns

Second due date 10/30; 3 new patterns (same format as first two)

Example

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tentative Schedule
Mon & Thurs Discussion Times = 1:30-2:30pm
Tues Discussion Times =1:30-5pm
Mon & Thurs Afternoon Labs = 3-5pm
Date Day 8 – 9:45am 10 – 11:45am Afternoon Discussion Afternoon Lab
25-Sep Thurs Logistics Ichthyology
Defin,Meth,Hist.
Intro to discussions, journals
26-Sep Fri Elkhorn Slough – Kirby Park 9:00 am – note time change
27-Sep Sat
28-Sep Sun
29-Sep Mon Marine Ecology readings
(Turbineria 1Turbinaria 2,Eutrophication)
Ichthyology
Syst.,Evol., Foss.
New Sale
(Ch.1 + Ch2)
Meristics, Morphometrics, PCA,Key,Forms
30-Sep Tues Marine Ecology lecture, Younger Lagoon field trip Ichthyology
Agnatha, Chondr.

Give paper to reviewers!

Marine Ecology Readings
(Cucumber Paper,Tridacna)
3pm Skin Dive Lecture
1-Oct Weds OPEN 5:30pm 02 Class
2-Oct Thurs Marine Ecology – Younger Lagoon Sampling Ichthyology 
Sarc. Chondro.
Sale Chapters

5 and 6 , fish poop

Lunch (12 – 1:30 Fish in Jars)        3pm Skin Dive Pool Session
3-Oct Fri Half-Moon Bay
4-Oct Sat
5-Oct Sun
6-Oct Mon Sample Design Worksheet and  Marine Ecology Readings
(Habitat Paper)
Paper due!

Ichthyology
Non-acanthopt.

Sale Chapters

8 and 9

Fish Lab
fish in jars
7-Oct Tues Marine Ecology Lecture: Coral Reefs 1 Ichthyology
Acanthopt.
Fish Lab
fish in jars
Pattern Journal
Check – Up
2 Patterns Due
8-Oct Weds OPEN
9-Oct Thurs Marine Ecology Readings
(Crest nets)
Ichthyology
Midterm 1
Marine Ecology Readings(Christmas Tree paper 1,paper 2,  paper 3) Lab
10-Oct Fri OPEN
11-Oct Sat
12-Oct Sun
13-Oct Mon Marine Ecology Readings
(RADCULTS  and Light Trap Paper)
Ichthyology
Freshwater
Discussion –
Student Projects
Bio162 old timers
14-Oct Tues Marine Ecology Lecture Ichthyology
From, Movement
Sale Chapters

10 and 11

Species ID
15-Oct Weds OPEN
16-Oct Thurs Marine Ecology Readings
(recruitment to anemones andcorals)
Ichthyology
Respiration, Blood
Sale Chapters

12 and 13

Lab
17-Oct Fri
18-Oct Sat
19-Oct Sun
20-Oct Mon Marine Ecology readings
(Lottery Paper, Acanthaster 1,Acanthaster2)
Ichthyology
Osmo, Feed, Grow
TBA Discussion – Student Projects
21-Oct Tues Marine Ecology lecture Ichthyology
Reproduction
Sale Chapters

14 and Bellwood paper

Lab
22-Oct Weds OPEN
23-Oct Thurs Marine Ecology readings
(Fungia1 and Fungia 2 andparrotfish)
Ichthyology
Perception
Fish lab, shark dissection in Thimann, main campus, 2nd floor, room 207, 2pm
24-Oct Fri Field Trip to Felton – meet at 9:30 in Felton parking lot (mt hermon exit), Afternoon: 2:00 Guest Lecture from Andy Brooks (note time change)
25-Oct Sat
26-Oct Sun
27-Oct Mon Marine Ecology Readings (Stegastes Paper) Ichthyology
Zoogeography
Sale Chapters 17 and 18
Discussion –
Student Projects
28-Oct Tues Lab Practical 
(species ID Test )
Ichthyology
Monterey Bay
Skulls Due (note date change)

Marine Ecology readings
(Chaetodon paperTwilight Paper)

Student project
presentations
29-Oct Weds OPEN
30-Oct Thurs Review Ichthyology
Final Exam
1 pm Marine ecology questions/informal review: Pete Raimondi
Notebooks (Ichthyology, Marine Ecology and field trips) due
31-Oct Fri Review Marine ecology
Final Exam
One paragraph project write-up due
Dive/snorkel proposal, Final Logistics

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Study material

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Course Handouts

 

Marine Ecology Ichthyology
Basis Stats – 2 per page, 4 per page Lecture 1-part 1
Coral Reefs – 2 per page4 per page Lecture 1-part 2
Population Regulation – 4 per page Lecture 2
Sampling Design Worksheet 1 Lecture 3
Sampling Design Worksheet 2 2008 (new) Worksheet 2 part 2 Lecture 4
Current Controversies – 2per2008 Lecture 5
Pattern Journal Handout  
How to present a scientific paper Lecture 7
Lecture 6 Lecture 9
Lecture 8 Lecture 11
Lecture 10  
Lecture 12 Fish Pictures
Lecture 13 Lecture 14
Lecture 15  

 

Click here to access EEB webdocs and the class reader for background information on Moorea

Click here to download the sampling design write-up instructions (Due Thursday 10/23)

Click here to download the marine ecology take-home final (due Friday 10/31)

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Class List